New Understandings

 

I lay back in the snow and stared at the sky.

It wasn’t nearly as cold as I thought it would be –

“Well you know,” the young man said when I expressed this later, “snow is actually a very good insulator.”  The words were punctuated with a look that said, “Duh!”  I had the grace (for once, at least) to act surprised.  He smiled at me kindly, like a grown-up does to a small child, and then turned back to his computer.

But, I get ahead of myself.

As I lay in the snow, wondering at how warm I felt, I looked up at the sky – the same sky I had gazed upon on another night some months ago when the stars had finally again whispered their song to me.  The night I had understood so much about everything…like the fact that I am a little bit of a princess, no matter what, and that I am one of the luckiest people alive because of all the wonderful gifts God has seen fit to bestow upon me:  life, relatively good health, a beautiful son and wonderful loved ones.

This time, when I gazed upward, I knew that I was even luckier than I had previously thought.  Every once in a while, the stars peeked out of the clouds and winked at me, smiling – and whispering new secrets, new wonders, new blessings.   And new understandings.

I lowered my eyes from the heavens above and looked at the house before me, at the warm light spilling onto the snow from within, and I felt more at peace, more calm than I could ever recall feeling in my entire life.  Everything I had ever wanted or needed was just inside that pool of light – just a few feet away – and I believed that all I needed to do was get up, open my arms, and walk into that light, and it would be mine.

And so…I did just that.

 


Leave a Reply

