Sulphur

Thunder rolls in

Lightning bolts fly

The screams echo endlessly

One glances close by

 

The acrid sulphur smell

Burns eyes and nose

Another bolt flashes,

Tears holes in my clothes

 

Skin burned and blackened

A dress all in shreds

I lost my last shoe

My stockings now threads

 

The flat land before me

Offers no cover

There’s nowhere to hide

No father, no lover

 

Shaking and weaving

No hope left in sight

I run and I run

In this false early night

 

In terror I flee

From what, God only knows

To what I run, though,

Is the question I pose.

Leave a Reply

