Obi-Wan and The Men Who Stare at Goats

I am a bit behind in my movie viewing, I must admit, but today I saw a really, really excellent movieThe Men Who Stare at Goats.  Oh, my gosh!  I loved it, loved it, loved it!!  At first I wasn’t really sure where it was going, but by the time the end credits rolled, I was a New Earth Army Convert!!                              

Being a child of the seventies who loved the Star Wars movies, the Jedi references and the mind control were enough to keep me entertained throughout – especially with Ewan McGregor (in the role of Bob) , who, of course, portrayed my all-time favorite movie character for three films:  Obi-Wan Kenobi.  All my life I wanted to be Obi-Wan…But it was more than that.  I hadn’t known what to expect from this movie, but what I got was a life lesson to which I could totally relate…the universe giving you signs.  Mind control over the weak.  Man’s cruelty to man, his desire for power, his vanity…His superstitious self – admitted or not.  Density – oops, I mean destiny.  Fate.  Native American beliefs.  Symbolism.  Kindness.  Love.  It was all there…a unique blending of all that is good within us — something we seem to have lost.

Mr. McGregor was great in his befuddled-til-the-end portrayal of Bob, the reporter who is looking for himself.  Jeff Bridges – the favorite actor of at least one person I know!! – was interesting as Bill.  George Clooney, of whom I am not normally a HUGE fan, was…I loved his tormented character, Lyn. 

I will not give away the ending in case you have not seen it, but I have to admit that I was surprised when I realized that I was crying and clapping at the last scene…especially after the following speech  by Bob – a speech with which I totally agree and wish I had come up with myself:

 …and if I ever needed proof of how the Dark Side had taken the beautiful dream of what a nation could be, and had twisted it, destroyed it, well, that was it; but I won’t stop. 

 I won’t give up. 

 Because when I look at what is happening in the world, I know that now, more than ever…we need to be all that we can be. 

 Now, more than ever…we need the Jedi. 

 

I agree, Bob.  Long live Obi-Wan!!  If you haven’t seen it, do so.  Now!  If you have, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I!!

Leave a Reply

