Scars

deep black and blue

i dream of you –

the scars my only

remembrance

 

no more will i cut

i’ve promised, but

the thought of the doing

lives on

 

your face i still see

and my heart’s so lonely

i don’t quite know how

to forget

 

pressing the lines

on my arms, like vines,

makes me feel oddly

closer to you

 

guitars, ankhs, and drums,

wedding rings, rings on thumbs –

i’ve weighted myself down

with you

 

the charms and their chains

ring my neck, just the same

as your strange collars, the

twins of intent

 

the scars on my arms

and those from my charms

will eventually fade

away

 

but the scars on my heart

will  remain.

2 Responses to “Scars”

  1. Wao, harsh but fantastic. So honest and full of pain. Thanks for sharing.

    • i’m not so sure i deserve any “thanks” for spreading my depression, but i truly appreciate your kind words and your continued support!! you’re pretty cool yourself.

Leave a Reply

